About the Office of Women's Policy

The Office of Women’s Policy focuses on gender equality and provides direct support to the Minister for Women’s Policy and across government on issues affecting women.

The Office seeks to advance the social, political, economic and civil status of women through the implementation of the Policy Framework for Northern Territory Women 2015–2020.

The Office was established stablished in 1983 when Australia became a signatory to the United Nations Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW).  This Convention requires governments to enshrine gender equality into legislation and enact provisions that guard against discrimination against women.  The Office of Women’s Policy coordinates Northern Territory reporting against CEDAW that is then provided to the United Nations.


Office of Women's Policy
Territory Families
Level 2, RCG House
82-85 Smith Street
Darwin NT 0801 

Phone: (08) 8999 8373
Fax: (08) 8999 8488 
Email: owp@nt.gov.au

Find the Office of Women’s Policy on Facebook.

Last updated: 09 March 2017